top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJayme

self love

So lately I feel like society is pressing the idea of self love. Meaning you won't truly be happy until you learn to love yourself. I believe this is true to some extent. Although for awhile, I think I misinterpreted the true meaning of self love. I got caught up in social media and how it was telling me to look. I then started telling myself, "Once I look this way, then I'll be happy." Well for starters, that doesn't work. It's a dead end. It leaves you feeling unsatisfied. That's not what self love is. Self love would be accepting of who you are at this very moment and not changing yourself. (unless its illegal then change that about yourself.)

Some people don't believe in self love. They are always unsatisfied. But what they need to know is that self love doesn't start with loving yourself. Yes that's a key part, but not the only part. The main part, MOST IMPORTANT PART, is Jesus.


What do I mean by this? God made you, created you in a specific way, and cherishes you beyond measure. He made us in His image (Genesis 1:27). His masterpiece. God didn't just throw ingredients in a bowl and call it a day. He put so much thought into EACH ingredient. He designed YOU to be perfect. Look in the mirror. That is God's end product. What you are right now. Not what you were in the past. Not what you could possibly be in the future. What you are right now is what God specifically designed you to be. Self love starts with knowing God loves you. God is love. How could He not love you? It wouldn‘t make any sense if He didn't love you. He loves you so much He sent His ONLY son to DIE for you.



let that sink in.


Society, aka satan, is going to try and break you. He has an entire army trying to drag you down. The devil is threaded in the way society thinks. Pressing the way we are "supposed" to look. In reality, we don't have to look that way. Satan is just trying to keep us from having a relationship with God by messing with your head.

"See how great a love the Father has bestowed on us, that we would be called children of God; and such we are. For this reason the world does not know us, because it did not know Him." 1 John 3:1

The world hates love because love comes from the Father and since the Father loves you the world is going to hate you. In the end the world is going to try and get you to hate yourself. Don't let the enemy win, be like Justin Bieber and love yourself.


I'm not trying to say I'm completely confident in myself. But when I look back maybe three months ago, I have definitely grown significantly. The more time I spend with Jesus, the more I become confident in who He made me to be. I learned to love myself because I know God loves me just the way I am.

moral of the story God made you special and He loves you very much.


BYEE



-Jayme



P.S. I don't selfie very often but I thought it was fitting to use a picture of myself where I'm "loving myself," I guess.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page